Dear Hinterland...

Mentatt76

Dear Hinterland,

I am a veteran player, who joined the community some 6-7 years ago. I played and fell in love with TLD in the very first play and come back occasionally to check what is new. I have followed and embraced almost all of your updates but in my current game, I am very unhappy with the fact that injured wolves and deer run like mad to the otherside of the world.

Thats ok, to run like mad, and this is what they suppose to do. We used to be able to follow blood trails, look for the crows ahead, try to track them dowen and eventually find them lying somewhere and that was a great find! This was the part of the adventure and one of the core elements what made TLD a gem. Now, they are all gone and in my current game (with a lot of reading and consulting with the community in forums) I am experiencing that wolves and deer run like hell, almost non stop and usually to the steep hills that often players have no access to. No blood trails, no crows, nothing guide the player to the prey. Most of the time they run half way to the map and this made impossible to track and claim the game.

Most of the members I have contacted in the community, advice me to not to bother tracking them and even not to try searching the vicinity for them. Specifically they have said "shot to kill and if they run, dont bother to track them" I give them credit as according to my journal, (my game show 20 days of survival) I have killed 7 wolves, that is, I have been in 6 struggles ( 1 was shot by me) and wolves are dead somewhere. I have tried to find their corpses and I could find none. Zero. Not a single one. 

This is a drastic change from what this game used to be. It was an essential part of the game now its gone. In other words, tracking down a prey what made TLD differ from other survival games and seing that made me really unhappy.