Do the wolves vary in difficulty by region?

Adamo

Hi I’m new to this, random started in PM then had some great times over in ‘that one with the plane crash on mountain top’ and wolves were pesky yes. But now I’ve moved to coastal highway via the mine and the three wolves I’ve fought there so far seem to be much harder to finish

Sort of. Timberwolves are more aggressive, a bit stronger, and have a pack moral. They are only in 2 regions I believe, bleak inlet and Timberwolf Mountain. But aside from that no, coastal hwy just has an exponential amount  of wolves. 

• Like 1

50 minutes ago, Ps4Methuselah said:

As far as i know, there are 3 different kinds of wolves...the alpha's, which are the biggest & most aggressive. They cause the most damage. Then you have the regular wolves that are 70% of the wolves we see & then there are the runts. They are the light weights that run from you when they see you. This is from back in the day, so things may have changed now. You can tell when you harvest them...the bigger they are, the badder they were.

Also, as Cranky pointed out,...timberwolves are a breed apart. Use blue flares on them...never let them surround you...keep your back to something, or take to the high ground.

I even saw one guy use a snow shelter to take out a pack of Timberwolves on youtube...but i never tried that myself so use that one with caution.

Good luck.:coffee:

That’s not true at all and never was. all wolves have an RNG on the ENCOUNTER for whether they will stalk or run and any wolf can change that behavior as a new RNG is assigned for each encounter with that wolf. 
  you also get an RNG for physical damage, clothing damage, and sometikes gear damage (e.g. bedroll). Again- specific for the ENCOUNTER not the wolf. 
  this does NOT vary by region. 
  The only difference is timberwolves but OP didn’t ask about that.   Wolves do not vary in difficulty respective to region. Regions vary in difficulty respective to wolves.