Wetting the whetstone!

druffzilla

We should be able to wet the whetstone to prevent it degrading so much, and to get better results on the sharpening of the knife.

I personally think 5% degradation per use is too much for the whetstone anyway, 3% would be much better, then if you add water, lower it to 2% and be 1-2% more effective on the sharpening of the knife.

Therefor we should use ~0,3l of water, can be dirty water of course.

EDIT: I thought about this a little more, how about the option to wet the whetstone beforehand in the "actions" tab, something like "soak in water" and then it stays wet for 3 uses or 60minutes.

Considering how I have been using the same whetstone for literally about 10 years, now, the fact that the sharpening stone degrades so fast is just asinine.

They REALLY want us to make those completely-worthless "improvised" tools, which is a shame.

If it wasn't for that stupid forge, I would have absolutely no reason to go to Desolation Point.

I actually like the new whetstone mechanics pretty much. The higher your sharpening skill, the more durability you restore to your weapon per sharpening, e.g. 3% at 30 sharpening skill and 5% at 67 skill. I haven't leveled up the sharpening skill to 100 yet but I guess in the end you'll restore 6 or even 7% weapon durability per sharpening. Which makes a whetstone more than equivalent to the hatchet or knife that you would have found instead in previous versions.

For me personally it's not of utmost importance whether something is 100% realistic or not (otherwise I could never play a game where wolves are the main antagonists anyway^^), but whether something makes sense from a game design's point of view (and is thus fun to play). And at least for me the whetstone definitely does make a lot of sense.