A weird experience

I'm not trying to start a conspiracy or some kind of creepy pasta as I speak of this, just something that happened in game that was odd so I thought I'd share it. I'm somewhat new to TLD so maybe this is a normal occurrence? I play on PS4 and what I'm about to talk about was on a pilgrim playthrough.

Anyway, the other day I was exploring at dusk in the area of Bleak Inlet that's sprawled out across from Last Resort Cannery, and I heard a sound that made me stop. Now, if you play TLD long enough, you start to be very familiar with every particular sound around you in game. I was thinking it was a bear, but it sounded more like a lion roar kind of. I looked around and nothing. I started to walk again and then I heard something coming up behind me quickly like it was running. This was not the gallop of a deer, these were footsteps that got closer from behind me. I stopped again, looked back, and still nothing.

Now, I'm no theorist, but that seems unnatural and odd to me. Anyone else experience anything like this or maybe lend some insight as to what this was? Thanks.

• Upvote 1

The only thing I can think of that sounds anything like a roar is a deer dying from a wolf attack.   

There are some new sounds around though, including from the new does.  I haven't heard them much really so I'm not sure if it could be one of those.

There are a few sound issues and bugs too .

• 3 weeks later...

@Bloodskye

Hinterland has also been known to make "stealth changes..."

On 2/15/2021 at 10:03 AM, ManicManiac said:

Personally, I really like the "stealth changes" that seem to appear from from time to time... keeps the player on their toes.

Those stealth changes have come in all kinds of forms.  I remember how jittery I got when I first started hearing the owls, and the first time I heard the loon's call... I nearly jumped out of my skin because I thought it was a nearby wolf.  :D