About modes

Guest Marcurios

Guest Marcurios

I'm beginning to question the modes..
I started playing The Long Dark a month ago, bought it years earlier, just never came round to starting to play.
I love the game, but i like a challenge, so i started out on Wintermute, second difficulty, was a nice run, Bear was a bit annoying though.
Then i wanted to try the survival modes, first tried Voyageur, died in 3 days, then tried Pilgrim, was too easy after ten days i got bored cause i was drowning in loot.
So i started Voyageur again, second time i got at 70 days and got bored again, became too easy again, then went on too Stalker,
Stalker was kinda challenging again the first 20 days, kept being entertaining for another 50 days, then became boring again, now on 110 days, again became too easy.
I'm killing 4 wolves with the bow each time they spawn, have like 40 wolf pelts and 100 rabbit pelts and a few moose an bear pelts..
So i thought, let's try interloper, let's see what that is, well, that is something entirely different, it's kinda unplayable, i mean i died within a day
each time i tried, tried 8 times so far, i only got a means to make fire in 1 try, caught some rabbits, made some water, slept a bit till it was day again,
went out to get to the next location, out of nowhere a wolf jumps me and i'm dead again..

Why is there such an incredible difference between these "experiences" ?
I mean, i got nothing on loot on Interloper, maybe two cans of soda and 1 flare, in 8 tries that took a day, been at 20 locations and only got two cans and 1 flare i mean do you solely depend on luck that you find a hatchet and matches in Interloper ? Ofcourse i kept the fire going with torches that i took out of that 1 fire, but is that how you guys play it, pure luck to find a torch and then keep the fire going indefinitely, or are there matches anywhere ?

EDIT: oh, wrong section of forum i guess i posted this in, excusez moi..