Save Button! - reason: Windows 10

palbi

Hi Folks,

I seriously think that this 3 years old OS is a complete crap. I bought The Long Dark game some 2 years ago, yes, back in the wonderful early access days, and played on Windows 7. And never had crashes or other bigger problems. I bought new hardware for about 1 month now, compatible only with Windows 10 (aside from Linux, of course) and I had 7 crashes! And only two of them gave me dump to upload to TLD Bug Report. Surely, the coding guys at Hinterland have something to do as well. But I think we need "save gameplay anytime anywhere" becuase it's not a deal losing 20-40 minutes of gameplay. Or I will have to move to Linux (I have problems with other commercial softwares too, under Windows 10 anyway, but I'm not experienced Linux user). Man, I am very angry.

The only thing I don't know (info nowhere to be found) if I have to buy the Linux version separatedly, or I can use my Steam PC copy. But the thing is, that I have a 309 days survival mode gameplay, and I don't want to lose it.

Hi palbi.

I've been a linux user for years now. You can use your steam license to install under linux. I've installed games on both windows and linux quite a few times; I can't think of any reason it shouldn't work with TLD.

If you want to switch over, back up your save games onto other media, and after you install the game from steam under linux, put the files back in place... assuming the cloud features don't just sync you up automagically after you install the game.

Linux has a learning curve but after you get over the hump you get a lot more control over your system and your information. I have zero regrets about making the jump ten years ago or so. The only thing that sucked for a long time was the dearth of games, but right now it's a golden age for gaming under linux... and while my heavily modified gnome desktop gets a little flaky from time to time, TLD never crashes for me.

/LinuxAdvocacy