New places to live with new fishing mechanic.

So I'm really enjoying the new fishing mechanics, I'm finding that it really opens up the number of possible base locations.

I'm currently camped out in the lake cave on Monolith Lake in HRV. I run a 2 tip-up string of fishing holes, hunt ptarmigan and rabbits with FHAs. It also has the moose spawn on the lake.

Ive camped out here in the past, but I findbit more enjoyable now as I dont have to search so far from the cave to find enough food to survive long term. As fate would have it, the ability to fish here likely saved my life... I arrived to the cave just after dark and inadvertently disturbed the moose and got my ass stomped. So its been a saving grace to be able to get food literally on my door step.

This has officially become my longest lasting run since I started playing TLD when it released on Xbox. I'm currently at about 120 days on vanilla Stalker. Ive also completed SV for the first time on this run.

Anyone else found some new places to set up camp long term that the new fishing mechanic makes more survivable than previously?

• Upvote 1
  • Like 1

21 minutes ago, yollarbenibekler said:

Do you think it's possible to live in Ravine now?

There are no spots where the water is deep enough in the Ravine or anywhere near it. The closest would probably be the opposite side of Carter Dam, down where that wolf patrols. Otherwise, the fishing huts back at Mystery Lake would probably be your best bet. Dealing with Bleak Inlet and all the timberwolves wouldn't be worth it IMO.

• Upvote 2

Oh funny little fact, if you have the Placing Anywhere mod installed, you can place ice fishing holes even in places that make no sense. You have to first be standing on valid ice when you go to chop the hole, but simply don't confirm it until you've got it positioned where you want. That might be on some actual ice elsewhere just so it looks normal, or it can be goofy like on top of an oil drum. Literally fish in a barrel!