Quit: progress lost (last N minutes)

NardoLoopa

I have limited knowledge of when it is that TLD save the game.  I believe it is at least on location transitions (into buildings) and sleeping.  But other than that, I'm not really sure.  When I have to log-out, I usually instigate one of these transitions, hit esc, and then choose Quit.

I always get prompted "Warning, your progress may be lost."  But I never know how much progress it is referring to.  The warning sounds ominous.  Is it the last 5seconds?  The 5minutes?

It would be really nice to have a more informative message, so I have an idea of what I might be losing.

Or maybe there is a better way to quit that I just don't know about.

You're losing until the last time it auto-saved. It displays an icon on the right and says saving when it is saving. If you just woke up, when you load your save it will be when you just woke up. If you just went inside when you load your save it will be when you just went inside. If you wake up, go outside kill a deer, skin it, and then quit, your load will be when you just woke up. Always watch for that auto save icon.

It also auto saves when you're getting mauled by a bear or dying. ;)

On ‎9‎/‎7‎/‎2018 at 5:27 PM, NardoLoopa said:

It would be really nice to have a more informative message, so I have an idea of what I might be losing.

Hi @NardoLoopa, it is easy to get the hang of this. Just look for the white hatchet icon at the right edge of the screen, (with the text "SAVING").

You will see it each time you:

• enter a building,
  • enter a cave with a loading screen
  • wake-up from sleeping,
  • complete passing-time,
  • complete passing-time while melting snow, (cooking),
  • when your survivor is attacked, injured, or gets food poisoning, (actual attack not just barked-at / actual affliction not just "risk of affliction").

It begins to make sense when you make it a habit to sleep to save a game, (and then pick-up your sleeping bag out of habit).