Loneliness/Sanity Meter

TheSlowestPoke

So, this is my first post, and I’m still relatively new to the game. It’s one of my favorites though! 

So my idea is mostly for the aspect of realistic gameplay. In real life, spending so long alone would easily drive someone mad. The game could have a sanity meter, like the temp, food, etc.. When the bar gets too low your rest is affected, and maybe they can have panic attacks or something, which would work similar to hypothermia. It would last a certain amount of time, or there would be a way to treat it. Ways to raise the bar could be reading or playing cards or something along those lines (new items would have to be added). 

There are a lot of details I’m not sure about, but it’s a thought. 

Playing music instruments (guitar) helps your sanity a lot in my experience.

The thing about mental health conditions is that they are partially already in the game because of the player sitting in front of the PC. I don´t wanna say that this game triggers depression or other serious mental illnesses but grave ingame events highly affect the way the player continues playing. Imagine losing all your quality clothing (especially crafted one) as a result of a bear mauling. Losing such important items causes the player to be dejected at first because of the huge loss of time he experiences right afterwards. It will get better as the player figures out how to deal with his loss effectively but it certainly impacts your playstyle for quite some time (playing more reserved, conservative, etc. | maybe even taking a break).

By the way, the mental issue you described is kinda already in the game in the shape of cabin fever.

I could imagine the depression affliction being added to the game. Depression should be breaking out if too many grave events occur subsequently like:

• Moose and Bear attacks
  • Wolf attacks that caused bleeding or blacking out
  • Losing fresh kills to a contender (not implemented right now)