Water from Fishing Holes

Hesha

Please tell me I'm not crazy and this used to be a thing...

I could swear that before I stopped playing about 15 months ago, it was possible to take water from the fishing holes on Mystery Lake. The water was not potable and needed to be boiled, but at least you didn't have to melt snow.

Am I right? Was it possible at some point? If so - why was it changed?

From my point of view the game needs a source of water that doesn't depend on fire. Especially on Interloper where matches are very limited. This is also very natural to take water from a fishing hole.

It also could make for a reason to ever drink non potable water. I have some experience with the game and honestly I have never had a choice to drink a non potable water: you either have it and can boil it with ease, or you can't make a fire and die from dehydration. Now at least you can have a choice when there aren't means to make a fire.

I'm not quite sure what kind of poisoning one gets from drinking non potable water and assume he gets default food poisoning. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but if that's the case probably it might be better to have slightly less destructive effect like dysentery of a kind that won't necessarily kill you without treating. For instance: receive 50% less calories from eating food and increased fatigue lose rate might be fine. If you continue to drink non potable water regardless it might or might not develop into full poisoning.

Then there is a sea or oceanic salty water that probably should behave different. It isn't suitable for drinking or ain't good to cope with thirst at least. That kind of water can naturally be used to receive salt through evaporation at fire. Mines might be another source of salt: mining salt with an axe from an unlimited source in a mine would be cool. Like it have been proposed before salt is used to preserve meat. Downside of the salty meat is of course a substantial amount of thirst when you eat that.