Finished EP4! My impressions

yoli

So I've finished Wintermute EP4 (on Desktop PC), I may have hit a record knowing I started playing it when it went out... Ok I'm a bit slow, but I am playing very occasionally (playing in survival mode too) and I also spent much time wandering around and do some non essential survival trips. As I am writing this, I am still under the influence of the ending cinematics which blew me away!

Overall this EP seemed to me more "directed" than the others, i.e. as a movie would be. It is both in the fact there are lots of cinematics and storytelling, and also fast action paced moments. One "new" ingredient in this EP is also the puzzle games like with pipes and so on. My opinion on all this is I loved the improved storytelling, but not much the puzzle aspects nor the time limited action paced moments. This is subjective of course, but enjoying TLD for its awesome immersive survival qualities, I have the impression to waste my time solving puzzles, or restarting the same time-limited scene multiple times just because I was not fast enough, I didn't see that exit etc. These are other type of challenges and in my opinion, they do not mix very well with the TLD experience. In survival mode, the state in which you are is mostly your responsibility, i.e. how you managed your stuff and if you're in a bad condition, this is mostly because you didn't do the right things (and luck sometimes too...). Whereas triggering endless pipe combinations or rushing into corridors are really something else, they were not that appealing to me. The puzzle games actually made me pause playing the game for several weeks as just the idea I had to go back into this maze of pipes was unsettling.

Regarding the storytelling, level design, quests, side-quests, everything was great, interesting and polished. I generally enjoyed this EP as I did for the other ones and eagerly await the conclusion.

Edited by yoli
  • Upvote 4

On 7/31/2022 at 10:23 PM, yoli said: