Surviving Wolf Attacks

Vulcan700

I'm a beginner at this game with limited sand-box experience and just started to play 'Wintermute'.  First off, there are a lot of commendable things to say about this game.  I understand fires, water, clothing, tools/repairs  (for the most part), first aid, finding/preparing food (learned to consult my journal), finding shelter, etc.

I don't seem to master encounters with wildlife, which allows me to start over (and over) from my checkpoint. It would be nice to be able to save the game just before you take on predators, so you don't have as much prior game play repetition. Perhaps this is the penalty you pay for dying.

Maybe I'm old and can't click my left gaming mouse button twenty times a second (based on the progress bar), or I'm interfacing correctly with the boxes that appear during combat (not sure), but there seems to be a high probability I'll bleed to death in a single wolf attack.  I guess a man with a metal shard has a low likelihood of surviving. Now and then, I unwittingly do/click something correctly (unknown), the wolf retreats, and I can bandage/antiseptic wounds, but my health bar is obviously dramatically reduced . I've tried to hide, crouch or sneak by, but the longer I delay the more rapidly I freeze.  Torch throwing is hit and miss, if your torch doesn't land in a specific strike zone (if it isn't too windy to light it). It did work once, which allowed me to get to the road, but then I get trapped in a car by a 'guard wolf' to slowly wither away.  Perhaps I need hours of practice to hone my torch throwing accuracy and mouse clicking dexterity.