Sandbox is too easy

I started playing "The Long Dark" again since the latest update, and comparing to, how it was back in 2014 it, became a lot easier, too easy in my opinion. The first night is a little bit challenging, the second night less, and as soon as you find fishing gear, a lake where you can go ice fishing, a cabin nearby with a fireplace, and a tool to break ice, you become basically immortal until you run out of matches, and even if you run out of matches(somewhere around day 200 i assume) you can just go to the next location.

What do you think?

Yours SzalonyNiemiec

Definitely, particularly with anyone with more than 10-20 hours played. I would love a challenge\difficulty mode where we cannot go indoors (into buildings) at all and have to rely on snow shelters, caves etc. Straight away the game would become much more interesting and challenging.

1 hour ago, dbldrew said:

yeah make a map that is 100% all natural resources no buildings no stashes of food nothing but a few tools.

make it so on cold nights you need a fire all through the night

sounds like another challenge map idea! there are some good challenge maps atm. I'm sure HS will add more.

Yep, game needs to be harder. 

A procedurally generated region would be awesome but it may not be feasible.

As mentioned above there should be a region with no human structures and few caves. It should be large and lack easily identified landmarks. I'm just talking about one large vast forested area. Someplace you can get lost in even if you know the map well. TWM lacks the human structures to some extend but you always know where you are which makes things very easy. I think this is feasible.