Ok old timers, tell us kids some stories

Doc Gonzo

I'm hoping we collective "newbs" can coax a few stories out of you vets out there. 

Tell us "kids" what The Long Dark was like "back in your day." For instance I know that during early builds surviving even a full day was a great accomplishment, why was that? I can remember an update bug that once caused time to stand still, any other fun, interesting or painful bugs? 

So come on all you grandpas and grandmas out there. Get seated on the rocking chair, we'll light a fire and get you a blanket if you'll only regale us with tales of days gone by.

(I am 100% serious, I love hearing about what the game was like in the earlier states.)

Thanks!

Hang on, let me get my glasses on and find my dentures... 

9_9

I don't know if I'm an "Old Timer" but I started playing over a year ago and the main thing that sticks in my mind was that the 200 days achievement seemed IMPOSSIBLE! There just wasn't as many supplies as we have now, and the rifle was your only option for hunting. That is, unless you wanted to go hand to paw with a wolf, which was a LOT more dangerous then than it is in the current version. Trying to outrun wolves was also a non-option, unless you were really close to a building.

I remember the first time I tried hunting for a bear, I waited till the bear got close to a fishing shack (mystery lake) and took aim, BANG!, I can't remember if I got off a second shot or not, but before I knew it the bear was reading the menu and digging into the main course, ME! I survived at about 5% and limped over to the fishing shack and got a fire going. Then a blizzard set in, so I had to keep it going constantly. The only thing that saved me was the old wood gathering system, I was able to keep the fire going and harvest wood in perfect warmth. I recovered, gutted and ate that bear and turned his hide into a sleeping bag. Victory.

Sam