Picked up game for free during giveaway, now I feel ashamed, what should I do?

CobraGeneral

2 years ago I picked up The Long Dark for free during giveaway. I have been watching playtrough long before the giveaway, so I was very excited about it. But 1 year ago I didn't have enough free time to play it, so I started playing it regularly only this year. I now have 100 hours in the game, I played all episodes of wintermute and now I feel ashamed for playing this game for free. Should I buy it on Steam? Do I ever deserve to be part of this community? 

• Upvote 2

I'm sure that you deserve to be here😊.   Regardless of whether you paid for it or not.. this forum is an open friendly place where we share our love for the game

But if you're concerned then how about the dlc,or buying some merch when the store opens?

• Upvote 2

31 minutes ago, Leeanda said:

I'm sure that you deserve to be here😊.   Regardless of whether you paid for it or not.. this forum is an open friendly place where we share our love for the game

But if you're concerned then how about the dlc,or buying some merch when the store opens?

Thank you for suggestion and hospitality. 

• Upvote 3

You are very welcome here! Money is not a factor in being part of the TLD community here or anywhere else. We're glad to have you, fellow survivor! :coffee:

I second @Leeanda's suggestion to spend a little in the merch store if it will make you feel better. The DLC is excellent and well worth the money, so that's a great option. You can also contribute by reporting bugs if you find any, or taking screenshots of your adventures and sharing them with us (Hinterland use these for marketing sometimes so in a small way it helps them too).

• Upvote 2