Comparisons to my real-world experiences

Perdex

I'm from Finland and I've been in Lapland, northern Finland, hiking and skiing for tens of times. I absolutely love the idea of this game but I find it frustrating to play as it fails to model some of the aspects I find most important about surviving. I am also a programmer and I know some of the stuff is actually pretty trivial to implement and it'd be awesome if at least the easiest tweaks would come into the game. 

First off the two core mechanics, cold and energy, should be linked. Using calories should heat up your body. Not hard to implement: just make every calorie dropped from the total add a bit to the temperature meter. Obviously this needs the balance of environment cooling you down more but that's trivial to tweak. This would make running way more realistic as you would need to run at times to prevent hypothermia, which would make you more fatigued and make things even harder if you didn't find a good shelter. It would make the game feel way less frustrating as you could make a dash for the last few meters to shelter but would also make it hard as people would think "I can run the rest of the way there" when their stamina would actually not be enough.

This would also make another point way more realistic: usually you can be outside as long as you want to even at the colder weathers (I've done over 5-hour trips where the temp dropped to -35C at lowest spots (yes, the lower you go the colder it gets on clear days) and I was just fine) given that you have enough food and water and keep up a pace that is just enough to keep you warm but no more. Below -20C you can't really stop for long periods, you have to find a shelter for eating and resting your muscles (I'll discuss muscle fatigue later) but as long as you have snacks and water warm enough not to freeze (water temp could be an easy one to model too) you are just fine.