My first evening with the new survival update

Off to a rocky start with the multiple downloads but everyone on steam seemed to be patient with it. It happens. I am a software developer and I know that a big release does not ever work right. Anyway, only took a couple hours to get it done and installed. Fine ever since. 

Landed in CH at some different location but I recognized it and made my way to the highway. It was refreshing to not know where the carcass spawns were. Had to keep looking at the sky to see where one might be. Also nice that the rifle locations are not fixed like before. I found Barb's riffle propped up and hidden behind a locker in Quonset. Nice! No riffle in DP cave or DP whale factory but I did find a revolver. The bow and an arrow are still at Katie's Secluded Corner which makes DP worthwhile. Also the good enough clothing to get me through PV and on to TWM for the summit. 

With this run I am not taking my time like before. I am focused on getting to the summit then getting the technical backpack and moose satchel then making my way to the airfield as fully kitted as I can be. Probably need to pause and get some meat and read books before I go. Maybe need to forge some arrowheads but perhaps I can find enough if I go back to PV. 

Once in the new region I will slow down and explore everything. If I get bored I will exit and loot all the other regions and make my bases like before then jump back in to whatever comes every 8 to 10 weeks.

You ROCK Hinterland. Thanks for taking my money!

• Upvote 2
  • Like 3

I went through the 2 new regions in Pilgrim mode last night to check it out.