Everyday carry ??

Logan7189

Hi everyone I’m new to the game and I’m wondering what people carry when they explore the world and loot. I made a base at pleasant valley with some extra meat and water but I’m already close to being overweight and I haven’t even left the farm house for costal highway !? 

• Upvote 2

Welcome to the Wilderness!

What you carry depends a lot on what mode you're playing, and what you're doing. On modes with harsher weather you might want a lot of coal on you. If it's not so cold you can get away with lighter clothing. etc. Also, different mode have different thirst and hunger rates, so a player on Pilgrim might carry less food and water than a player on Interloper. There are ways of increasing your max carrying capacity: the Well-Fed bonus, a moosehide satchel, and the technical backpack. Eating meat pies also gives a temporary increase.

Here's a sample list off the top of my head of my basic inventory. I'm usually much heavier than this because I'm always picking up loot or carrying things places, but this is what stays in my bag permanently:

• Firestarting: 20 matches, mag lens, 8 tinder, 4 coal, 2 cedar, 20 sticks, 2 books, 1 accelerant
  • Medicines: 1 bottle antiseptic, 1 bottle of antibiotics, 1 bottle painkillers, 4 bandages, 4 teas, 6 prepped hips and mushrooms, 1 emergency stim, 1 Aqua-Pur
  • Clothes (obviously). Sometimes spare gloves if I'm worried about bear maulings destroying them. Crampons.
  • Food: 2L water and 1-3kg meat, box of crackers or 20 cattails as non-smelling emergency food. Box of tea, tin of coffee, cup of tea, cup of coffee
  • Tools: bedroll, hacksaw, hatchet, knife, prybar, cooking pot, skillet, lantern, sewing kit, spray can (yes, I'm the player who uses them), 2 red flares, 1 blue flare, 5 charcoal, 5 torches, 1 research book
  • Weapons: bow, 6-12 arrows, 4 fire-hardened arrows, 3 stones. Sometimes a revolver with 20 ammo.
  • Crafting: 4 cloth, 1 leather (if wearing leather clothing)