I'll pay $20 for VR support.

katiebour

• 2 months later...

I am no game developer, but I would assume that porting the game to VR would be so time intensive and not be worth the money they would make from it, but if anyone knows anything about VR development and porting please feel free to let me know I am wrong.

1 hour ago, ajb1978 said:

Hehe I've already played this in VR.

I remember you posting about that on Steam, and how you did it. And Jimmy trying it on his VR sets. And he loved it, though VR gives me a blinding migraine most of the time. 

Does your method still work, or no longer, after many updates?

7 hours ago, ThePancakeLady said:

I remember you posting about that on Steam, and how you did it. And Jimmy trying it on his VR sets. And he loved it, though VR gives me a blinding migraine most of the time. 

Does your method still work, or no longer, after many updates?

Yes and no.  My original method no longer works, but VorpX now supports The Long Dark directly, so I don't have to go through as much shenanigans to play it.  Also, playing it in virtual 3D Screen mode is best.  Instead of trying to shoehorn the game into VR, which causes problems any time you have a full-screen thing going on (basically any menu interaction), the game is rendered on a giant virtual 3D display.  So you can still turn your head to look around, but it doesn't control your character's perspective.  It just changes what part of the virtual screen you're looking at.