Can We Separate the Units Please?

So this is a fairly Canadian-specific request.

I find that most Canadians in my age group are like me in what unit scales they understand. I know what temperature is in Celsius, distance in Kms, people height in ft, and weights in lbs.

Can we make what scale your weight is and what the temperature is two different options? When I look at something in TLD I actually have to take a second and multiply its weight by 2.2 to really understand what it weighs. I tried going imperial for a while, but I do not understand Deg F. "22 degrees? That CAN'T be that cold!" *dies of hypothermia*

As an engineer, I love metric units of measure. Very easy to work with and very easy to figure out the weight of liquid for instance.

As an American, Imperial is the way I grew up understanding and is much easier for me to visualize. To me 30kg doesn't sound like much, but 66lb does. One gallon = 3.78 Liters, I can visualize a gallon and I can see 2 liters (thanks to soda bottles) but I can't tell you how much a gallon of water weighs off hand (3.78l = 3.78kg).

Temps are a hassle to try and convert and/or visualize without experience doing it. 32F (0C) is freezing point of water, 212F (100C) is boiling point. A nice day out is 70F for me, but 70C is Hotter than Hell. 22F is cold, watch for possibilities of icy roads, but 22C is a nice day out.

For gameplay purposes (and physics work) I use metric.

i am convinced that the Metric system is based on 1 Liter of Water.

Sorry @Canadian Beaver but I don't know if the devs would have time for that. Although I know exactly what you're talking about ^_^

I'd recommend just using metric for now. The only thing in the game that's not already commonly metric in Canada are the food and clothing weights. Plus, like you said, trying to convert Fahrenheit to Celsius is just confusing :frown:

4 hours ago, FrozenScorpion said: