Player attributes?

zerofoxtastic

I'm very new to TLD, so my apologies if I just have not figured this out yet in game or if it's been suggested. I love the running aspect (that you can only run for a certain length of time before running out of breath), but is it in the cards to do more with character creation/leveling up? Perhaps we (the player) can select certain attributes to start the game or perhaps we all start at zero/attributes are randomly generated, and over time you can build up your "skills" to help you survive. It's sort of similar to how we have "fire skills" or "clothing repair skills". However, I'm thinking this affects your character's general survivability, moreso than his/her chance of being successful at important tasks (e.g. starting a fire).

For instance, you could have categories like this:

1. Endurance - affects how long you can run for before getting winded; increases the amount of weight you can carry in your pack before slowing down.

2. Ability to withstand (cold, hunger, health issues) - kind of like how Wim Hof can withstand extreme cold better than other people, maybe our character loses warmth slower than others, or can stand being hungry for longer. By walking around and generally surviving, this will be built up over time.

3. Agility - affects how fast you walk/run; markedly improves your ability to evade predators

4. Intelligence/cunning - affects how well you are at performing hunting/fishing/craftsmanship. Decreases time it takes to cure hides/guts and the time it takes to craft items.

5. Orienteering - as you get to know an area, this skill is built up; because we don't have a map, maybe it increases the chance for a set of phrases denoting that you find a place is familiar "I feel like I've been here before" or "________(shelter) is definitely to the left of me". Could increase the probability of an alert popping up that there's shelter nearby. Maybe it unlocks a compass or something.