Bullet-proof wolves? Gear lost due to encumbrance?

Katastropos

Hi, I started playing this beautiful game two weeks ago, and after completing the two episodes of Wintermute and two failed attepts at Voyager survival mode... but in Pleasant Valley with none previous map knowledge... OK, in reality all was because silly choices I made, such as forget my sleepbag and only realize after climb that 2 rope cliff, then night comes, then a blizzard comes.. And the second one was going well: managed to kill my first bear, get a expedition parka, but somehow I managed to fuck all up when I was gathering the meat and need to stay in the barn because the horrid climate. I ran outside to "micromanage" the fire so I can boil a tea to recover my awful condition, just a stick so I pick up one, turn around to go back but... a wolf? 4 meters away? how...? Oh, well. 

Sorry, this post is not about my sad gameplay stories, its about a few things that happened in my games. I just googled and, as opposed as I was thinking, cannot find any mentions about them whether in the wiki nor in another site: 

-During Wintermute ep 2, at night, in the lake I encounter a wolf who start to stalking me. I shoot it and hit, but it give off sparks -yes, sparks- and ran away. Then, I encounter the same wolf minutes later, shoot it again, hit succesfully and... sparks again! No aurora, no green aurora-imbued wolf. Never found a carcass. The sparks are that, sparks, brighty and obvious. It is hard to think about that as a some kind of bug, rendering the blood animation as a... sparks, and maybe the wolf bled out far away and I never found it, but it seems more like a bulletproof-wolf deliverated kind of thing.  o.O