Just more of my 2 cents

RJ_Dalton

I started playing again after this most recent update.  I do like a lot of the changes.  The clothing is more interesting now, so it's not just a matter of "get the clothing made from animal hides and never worry about cold again."  It seems that being in storms doesn't ruin your clothes anymore, but it does soak them, which is a mechanic I like better.  I still haven't tried out the new area, yet.  When I check new content, I always like to start out in Mystery Lake first, just because it's easiest and I can get a good start on everything for checking out the new areas.  But I'm pretty sure I'll enjoy it when I get to it, since I haven't been let down yet.  Love the new book reading mechanic.  I've been hoping for that for a while.  And I like the way the new skills work.  Being better at cooking means you don't burn as much food so you get more that you can eat, raising skills at firestarting makes fires last longer, etc.  It makes it a bit more interesting.

One thing I'm finding odd, which has been a while, but I keep forgetting about it when I come onto the forums: why does melting snow take so much longer than boiling water?  I would think it'd be the other way around.  I mean, I think the overall time it takes to melt snow and then boil it is right, it just seems like melting snow should be the one that takes longer.

Still loving the game.  I've noticed that the game has a therapeutic and calming quality to it, which is strange considering it's sometimes punishing difficulty.  But then, I realized that the game is really heavy on soft blues, which is a calming color.  I wonder if you were intending that, or if it just kind of happened.  Either way, it's something I enjoy.  And the sound design is still the best I've ever seen from a game before.

Anyway, that's all my thoughts for the moment. 

20 hours ago, RJ_Dalton said: