Rifle Accuracy Modifiers

Wagyu

So, I was watching a video on YouTube of this game, and while it looks really cool so far, but when I was watching the character shooting at oncoming wolves, I was thinking "Holy crap, does this guy/girl have nerves of ice or something?" The thing is, the aiming system doesn't waver. At all. It's perfectly centered, focused straight ahead when in aim mode. Moving doesn't destabilize the gun at all, either. From what I understand of the plot of the game (and the premise of the sandbox), the main character is an airplane pilot. Experienced wilderness survivalist or no, they're not going to be Olympic-level marksmen. I'd like to suggest a system for adding a little more "wavering" to the long-range combat system.

I'm no game programmer, and I don't know how hard this would be to implement. But I'd do this by adding in an invisible stat that reflects the character's calmness, or lack thereof. Call it "collectedness" or "assuredness" or "self-control" or even "experience". The way I'd set this up is to have this "collectedness" stat be calculated based on two progressive variables and one fluctuating variable, and affect two and only two things within the game: the ranged-weapon aiming accuracy. and the rate of fatigue increase.