Through the Eyes of a Pilgrim - A Personal Review

Kedge

Hello, I'm Kedge. I'm brand new to the forums and the game collectively, and have pumped numerous hours already into The Long Dark over the span of four/five days. Being a night owl has gotten better, now that I have a world to explore as I stay up. I am a massive fan of survival games and I am an aspiring game developer, and I could never find my own image in a game-what I would love to experience. Realism, a brutal world, wildlife, etc.. Many survival games nowadays seem to take a zombie approach, mutants, etc. And that is fine, to each their own. But The Long Dark.. it makes you face the world herself and it instantly caught my eye.

I rarely get to push my imagination and project my character(s) or idea(s) into a game(at best, The Sims). I have been working on a project for a few weeks and have designed a character over the course of it. She herself lives in a bleak, barren, cold world. So I instantly chose "female", named my save after her/my project, and let my experience flow "as her". I guess if you are not attached to a self made character, don't enjoy any form of RP/RPG, maybe that does not resonate with you.

Onto the review..it's a little lengthy and all over the place but bear with me.