Useful books

majorp

I have noticed the in-game description of books ("Eventually, a source of knowledge") and was wondering.. Does that mean you have current plans on making books into useful sources of knowledge? I would love to be able to find books about e.g. the local fauna, and be able to read them to gain useful knowledge! Reading should take a certain amount of time while giving you some slight advantage. For example, after reading a chapter about wolves you would know more about their behavior, which could make it slightly less likely for them to detect you or make you slightly more effective in fending off an attack. Reading about the local flora could give you pictures of the plants, descriptions of their use, and maybe hints on where to look for them (not exact locations, but hints like "along riverbanks", "in densely forested areas", "at high elevations" etc..). I'm fairly new to the game, and when I first set out to look for the saplings I had no idea of what to look for. From the pictures in the crafting descriptions they look like small twigs that might be found on the ground. I spent days searching for them and probably walked past them many times before I eventually had to give in and look them up on the forum. :) Also had no idea about the harvestable cat tails until about 60 days into my current run!

I too would like for books to be readable, when I have a drawer full of meat and a floor covered in fresh guts, hides, and saplings. The wind outside is howling shaking the roof vents. I would like to build a nice cozy fire and sit in a chair and burn a few hours reading because I for dang sure ain't going outside.

+1 for readable books

Either ingame knowledge or real life, being able to read would certainly be nice. Even if you don't really gain anything (skill) it is still better than going to sleep because you really can't do anything else useful.