CopperBot (aka DenverDad) from Denver Colorado

DenverDad

Hello everyone. My name is Jay and I'm 36 years old. I'm married and have two children (a four year old girl and a one year old boy) I'm a web developer by trade for a school district just north of Denver and have been programming for a living (with different languages and frameworks) for the last 15 years. I'm also a published concept artist and have done character concept art and sprite art/animations for a handful of small games.

Now for the "on-topic" good stuff. I've been a gamer from as long as I can remember. I'm not sure how old I was but my uncle brought his Atari to my grandmother's for Christmas when I was maybe 3 or 4 years old and it made a LASTING impression on me. I've been a bit obsessed ever since.

Now that I'm a father I don't get to play as much as I used to so a lot of "big ticket" games don't get more than a passing glance from me. I used to be really into big budget massively multi-player games but that ship has sorta sailed for me. As a result I've going through a bit of a gaming renaissance right now and have been spending most of my time playing single player games with a recent and meaningful shift towards indie titles.

I discovered The Long Dark as part of a very deliberate process to find quality indie games to enjoy. This all started after I picked up a copy of Half-Way on a whim and was blown away but the retro styling and truly enjoyable experience. If you haven't played this I highly recommend it. Anyhow, something about the simplicity of the game really resonated with my inner child - no doubt playing off the feelings of nostalgia I experience anytime something even remotely resembles the 8-bit gaming era. After finishing the game I felt like my eyes had been opened anew to the joys of gaming. I had to find more indie titles to consume and a few web searches later I found The Long Dark.