Waste metal (cans, et al) to fishing hooks

Asinine

Can't remember if I've posited this before (and if so, it was before covid), but on any level you'll end up with a few empty cans. I'm no expert, but I would think that actually some of the bits from using a knife on a can (without a can opener) could couple with copious other cans and create some fishhooks. Maybe some mechanism that involves new, lower-level items to build up, because I feel the current scrap metal that will repair important things is too important.

Honestly, if scrap metal can repair a hacksaw, I feel that's too glorious for simple scraps that could easily create fishhooks. Just my two cents.

• Upvote 2

I like the thinking but like many items that might be useful IRL where your imagination is the only limit, TLD has a set crafting system that focuses gameplay on traveling to set locations (like forges) and back home to your base. I’m doubtful that a forge would be needed for much of the metal crafting  IRL, albeit the tools will be of low quality. I think Hinderland has said something along the lines of attempting to focus more on gameplay than reality as it is a game.

23 hours ago, Sasquatch007 said:

I like the thinking but like many items that might be useful IRL where your imagination is the only limit, TLD has a set crafting system that focuses gameplay on traveling to set locations