Wolves, Blankets, Crates and Dog Food

Strider

Foreword

I just want to state before I begin I like TLD very much at this point. It's different to the legion of games out there and more importantly is trying to distance itself which is a good thing. I offer the comments below merely as my opinion. In addition, I've no idea if the things I'm about to suggest are already planned. If they are, wonderful I can go back to being eaten by wolves.

I've also only played the game 2-3 times and I've very little experience. I've also zero survivalist experience (I've been told playing DayZ and Project Zomboid don't count) and so it may be that what Hinterlands have added is accurate. Lastly, I think the balance they've struck (I'm ignorant of Canada's weather) between realism and game play is excellent so far. The game is brutal but it's nice to have have the game hold my hand, but I digress.

Feedback

1. Objects in the world, crates, blankets

I don't like objects in the world that I cannot interact with. I understand there needs to be a certain amount 'eye-candy' and not everything can be interacted with but there are some fairly large omissions. For example, large crates.

I see no reason why any person couldn't (with a prybar, but to a lesser extent without) break large wooden crates up to use in a fire. This is also true for the blankets that populate every cabin I've been in. It struck me I could use them to repair wool clothing but I cannot.

Let me just add here that the decision to omit these may be due to game balancing. That's fair enough but I thought it worth pointing out.

2. Wolves and combat

Again, I need to prefix what I'm about to say. I suspect the combat in TLD is not a place-holder. I'm under the impression that Hinterlands have made a decision to move away from the 'twitchy' aspect of gaming in the hope of making it more cerebral. I like this however I don't much like the combat in this game. I find it limiting which brings me to the following.