Feedback after 1 week of new map

CoureurDeBois

I'm not an expert when it comes to game balance, and I do hope that posting this in an entirely new thread isn't presumptuous, but I have been playing the new map for more than a week, and I thought I might as well share my two cents.

What I don't like about it:

-The new map's loot table is a wreck. I collected over 35 kilos of various forms of clothing and about 28 kilos of food (beef jerky, soda, etc.) but only 2 bullets. I concede that I may have missed the lion's share of the bullets (though I don't count it as likely), but I cannot think of any reason for why there should be 35 kg of clothing in the map. The lack of bullets meant that my ability to survive sustainably was stunted and my reliance on "loot" food like jerky and canned food was almost total.

Now, I may have been able to rectify this by venturing to mystery lake for bullets (and, for all I know, that may have been the intention), but I seriously dislike that idea of designing the game. It essentially relegates the coastal highway into being a sort of "looting zone" which you hit up and only ever return to if the wildlife in mystery lake is exhausted. I would like it if each map had the capacity to be a self-sustaining unit: if the player doesn'tt want to venture back to mystery lake and they just want to try and survive at the highway for as long as they can, I think that thry should be able to do that.

-The wolves are improved from the insanity of last Thursday, but it is still a little bit much. I was attacked 5-6 times by wolves within a 11-day period, and that isn't due to lack of caution on my part, I encountered but avoided wolves about thrice that amount during the same time span. In a blizzard I can find my way around the coastal townsite by following trails of my own blood.