It's about time! Hello :)

ThresholdSeven

Hi everyone! I've been playing The Long Dark for a couple months now and decided it was time to join the forums. I enjoy the struggle of exploring and figuring out a game by myself, but I have looked up a few hints here and there :D

The Long Dark has become my favorite game and I can't wait for what is to come.

I look forward to relating some of my encounters and experiences, contributing to bug reports, helping players with the knowledge I've gained and learning more myself. After over 500 hours of game play I still learn something new almost every time I play.

500 hours is pretty impressive! Glad you decided to come out of the shadows and join us.

Looking forward to hearing about some of your experiences -- Do you have one from recent memory that stands out?

Welcome to the community!

My most memorable experience is kind of a nightmare. I still wake up at night in cold sweats after seeing the glowing eyes of that beast close in. :P

It was near the end of my last run. I was nearing 800 days. It had taken nearly a month in real time to get there as I barely did any hibernation at all. Everything was hunky dory until I face checked around a large boulder in the Coastal Highway right into a bear. I ran. It followed. I was surprised by how far I actually got. I thought I was going to escape the monster. I was weaving in and out of trees, but it finally got me. I knew it wouldn't kill me but I was in big trouble. As it walked away from my bloody and battered ruins of an almost-corpse, I crawled bleeding and freezing to the nearest cabin which luckily wasn't that far away, although I wasn't sure exactly where it was or if I would make it. I barely did manage to find it in time, bandaged, ate and recovered in the bed. My clothing was ripped to shreds, but I was alive.