New Player Feedback

megamen

Hello,

I just started playing this game this past weekend and I wanted to say it is fantastic. I really enjoy the setting, and the gameplay is quite good.

However there are a few things I don't understand / bring me out of immersion.

1 - Why is a kilo of venison only 800 calories? I have to eat like three kilos of meat a day at that rate. A simple Google search shows the actual calorie value to be ~1580 calories per kilo.

Basically, food breaks down as follows: (all nutrients assumed to be bio-available)

Fat: 1 gram = 9 calories

Protein: 1 gram = 4 calories

Carbohydrates: 1 gram = 4 calories

Alcohol: 1 gram = 7 calories

Please make the food calorie values realistic. I have no problem with food becoming rarer to accommodate this change, keeping total calories available consistent. When you do bring down a deer and see 8 kilos of meat, I want to feel like I just hit the jackpot. I did at first, but now it seems to be just a calorie balanced activity.

2 - Clothing / crafting - Why can't I make a scarf from cloth? I hope that the crafting options are incomplete and a larger / wider array of craftables are coming.

3 - Fishing - I tried it, however I cannot seem to actually make the activity calorie positive, given you need to sit there and fish. Why don't the fishing sheds have openable doors like the ranger station, so the shed can stay warm? Also, given that people were out on the lake fishing, what happened to all of their fishing gear, especially their spools of fishing line.

4 - Cooking

A - Hot food - I love that your can eat hot food to warm up. I dislike having to exit out of the cooking menu and navigate to inventory, find which one is hot, then eat it, then go back to the fire to make my next cup of coffee. Please either let me make multiple items at the same time, or give me the option to cook and then immediately eat from the cooking menu. Also, why isnt the water hot when you boil it.