Laptop or PC recommendations.

Can anyone recommend a good but lowish priced laptop or PC ? As long as I can play TLD on it I'm not too bothered about much else🙂. I'm not very good with tech knowledge but any advice would be appreciated.   

I would also like to be able to use a controller rather than keyboard or mouse. 

Thanks.

• Like 2

My laptop is at least 4 years old now, and manages to run The Long Dark at an average of about 60 fps (sometimes a little more, sometimes a little less)...  Perhaps not the best, but certainly runs well enough on "ultra" settings to maintain a decent enough frame rate.  This (at least for me) eliminated difficulties with the struggle mechanics due to input lag that was apparently caused by low frame rate on my previous hardware.

I imagine my particular gaming laptop has likely dropped in price, considering it's an older model now.

Here are the specifics:

Asus - Republic of Gaming
ASUS GL702VM
Windows 10 Home; Intel Core i7-6700HQ @2.6GHz; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060

:coffee::fire::coffee:
I hope this is somewhat helpful, or at least maybe gives you a place to start from when looking for an upgrade/replacement for your current hardware.

Edited by ManicManiac
  • Upvote 1

Thank you. It's very helpful.  I'm using an Xbox s at the moment. I already get lagging,if that's what you meant? Sorry my tech knowledge really is terrible.🙂  But I'd rather go with a laptop so I'll look into it. 

• Like 1

The lag I was getting on my previous hardware was specifically a problem for wildlife struggles.  I dug up a previous post from years ago that described it pretty well, so I'll just quote it here: 

On 5/19/2019 at 2:25 PM, ManicManiac said:

I can't offer much advice for console players... but for PC, I can say that if you have a situation where you have low frame rate I can confirm that it makes the struggle mechanics very very difficult - to the point of being a losing proposition every time.