Good Base Locations

Anomaly53

I am fairly new to the game while having some experience and map knowledge I’m having some problems finding a good base location, so if anyone can give me some tips or info that would be much appreciated. (I’m tossing up between DP, CH and PV) thanks

4 hours ago, Anomaly53 said:

I am fairly new to the game while having some experience and map knowledge I’m having some problems finding a good base location, so if anyone can give me some tips or info that would be much appreciated. (I’m tossing up between DP, CH and PV) thanks

My favorite retirement base is at the Hunting Lodge in Broken Railroad, but that's not where I'll center myself if I'm still exploring other parts of the map.  I described my reasons for liking it so much on the "What's your Favorite Base" thread.

Probably the most central is the Camp Office in Mystery Lake since the zone represents basically the center of the current map.  It has a workbench; and if cabin fever is a concern, you can easily set up a snow shelter at the back door with a very sheltered fire to sleep it off outdoors.  The fishing huts nearby or the cave near the Western Access to the lake are also good alternatives.  Fishing, bear, moose and deer are all available close by for game.

If wolves are your fear, then you can also set up a pretty decent base in the cave in the Ravine and jump into the dam to use one of the workbenches there.  The Ravine is a wolf-free zone.  I have also stationed myself out of the trailer just outside the dam, which has some storage and a bed, but then you do have to be careful about the wolves that patrol in that area.

If you don't mind some bad weather, another great base is the farmhouse in Pleasant Valley, particularly since they revamped the map and you can enter the basement and workbench now from inside the house (also giving you ample exit points to allude the bear that patrols that area).