Malnourishment - My solution for the hibernation "exploit"

rahgots

Hi! It's my first post here. I've been playing The Long Dark for a couple of years now I have about 220 hrs and it's my favourite game and I really think it has a lot of potential.

Anyways, onto the topic at hand. _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've thought about how many people use the hibernation strategy to stretch out their food supply. I don't think it's a bad way to play the game. I think that it's a very smart way to save food. However I do find it too forgiving. The Well Fed buff is currently the only reason to keep your Hunger meter filled at all times, and I think we can all agree that it's usefulness is highly situational. I also don't think the Cabin Fever affliction is a good way of dealing with it either. I think I've come up with a solution that would balance out the hibernation strategy without making it completely unviable.

I would solve this problem by adding a new Affliction to the game: Malnourished.

You would get the affliction in a similar manner to how you get the Frostbite affliction. When your hunger gauge is empty a temporary affliction called Starving would appear that has a meter like Frostbite Risk does. While starving, the meter would slowly fill up. While you have your hunger meter filled, it would slowly go down. When it fills all the way up a level of Malnourished would be applied. I would try to time the meter so that if you spent about half the day starving for three days in a row, you would have Malnourished applied. 

Malnourished would have three effects: 

- Lowering your maximum Condition by 10%.

- Reducing your max carrying capacity by 1KG.

- Increase time for things like harvesting and crafting by 10% of the base time.