Long Term Survival for Beginners

Phawk

Hello, new player here (well... I started playing a week ago).

I definitely spent a lot of time playing lately and I pretty much mastered every game mechanic and I know all that's needed to know about maps, animals and stuff. Unfortunately I am yet to break the 10 days line (on Voyageur, mostly because of stupid errors) and I need to start thinking a bit more seriously. So I am here to ask help about something I cannot master yet: Long term survival.

Let me premise that I read a lot of topics in this forum and I learned a lot, but there are still a lot of things that I am not sure of. So:

-Considering that I want to get started on breaking something like 50 days, which is the more comfortable place to settle in? According to what I read, Trapper's Homestead or Jackrabbit Island would be easiest ones. Are these two places good to start?

- Is it important to find a bunker? Is it worth to travel the map for the sole purpose of looking for one? Do they spawn according to this map http://i59.tinypic.com/2zhozet.jpg? And is there a SINGLE bunker in game (between all the three maps) or are there 3 bunkers, one for each map?

-Obviously I can't start long tem survival If I don't have proper equipment. What are the mandatory items that I need to own before I start settling down?

And something very important to me: Is it better to start the game by fully looting all of the three maps of all they have to offer and gathering them in a single place before starting to camp, and is it better to just go pick stuff whevener I need it step by step?

- Something I didn't quite get: do items start degrading as soon as you pick them up, regardless of what kind of items they are? It it true that the medical thingy on the wall preserves matches better?

Sorry for the bunch of questions. I will post more when I remember what parts of the game I still don't fully understand.

Thanks for the patience... at least if you bother answering me.