Sign in to follow this  
sonics01

Idea for mental afflictions

Posted (edited)

This is just brainstorming attempt, numbers and contents in this posts are purely came from my imagination. So I welcome any other idea or suggestions. I tried to make this list as realistic & reasonable as possible and tried to related mental conditions with what we call "traumatic" events. I'm not a health provider neither a medical expert, but I talked with some people who were suffering PTSD. This should balance the late stage of survival mode and should give additional challenges to players. 

1) Claustrophobia 

In official terms, claustrophobia is the fear of confined spaces, and cabin fever is included in claustrophobia. In this game, cabin fever is criticized due to unrealistic triggering conditions, and it really looks silly at current status. So I tried to touch this one. 

Condition: First, we need to carefully define what would be the "confined place" in this game. I would suggest any types of cave, inside any vehicles, and any very small buildings within specific volume/size. If a character suffers any kind of damage and experienced below 50% health due to any reason inside the "confined place", or if the character is trapped inside the "confined place" for more than 3 days, then let the claustrophobia kicks in. Let it chance-based, but with a good chance.  

Symptom: Once claustrophobia kicks in, the player cannot get into such a "confined place".  Or, let the player can get in the "confined place", but cannot sleep or past time, and cannot concentrate on any activity due to anxiety. 

Heal: Stay and sleep outside of "confined place" for more than 48 hrs. 

2) Wolfphobia or Lupophobia

Fear of wolves!! The life-threatening experience related to the wolf negatively influences the character, with anxiety. 

Condition: If character health reached below 50% after a struggle with a wolf, then let the wolf phobia kicks in based on some chance. 

Symptoms: