Hacksaw Usage

hozz1235

Whenever you use the hacksaw to break down a "metal" item, it seems to decrease the quality of the hacksaw by 5% despite what you are breaking down.  Now, I don't understand why my hacksaw quality is decreased by 5% when breaking down a metal bucket which takes @30 minutes to break down vs. a metal shelf which takes 3 HOURS to break down?

• Upvote 1
  • Like 1

Guest jeffpeng

It takes the same amount of condition to open containers on TWM, which is something you do in mere seconds. Afaik hatchets and hammers also take always the same amount of condition breaking down furniture, no matter how long that actually takes. It simply isn't a very well written part of the game. I guess we should be grateful using the hacksaw to cut little bunnies into pieces doesn't take 5% per 500 grams.

Guest jeffpeng

I do that all the time. Early in a game when I don't yet have a knife, but I am a bloody beginner at harvesting carcasses using the hacksaw to cut the time I require to do that in half. Hacksaws can be repaired, tool boxes can be repaired, and scrap metal is all but abundant. Even when I do have a knife I tend to use the hacksaw when time is not of the essence, but I also have no time to waste doing it with my bare hands.

But yeah, imagining a real world person putting a big bass hacksaw to a cute, little, tiny, innocent ..... 😭

Good point by the OP, some of the tool usage like carcass harvesting and crafting scales with actual time spent, and some don't. I assume this was done for gameplay reasons since there's a good system in place for the aforementioned activities. I for one am grateful of the fact that I can saw 15 whole sets of steel shelves before I need to get on with repairing my hacksaw. ( We need a hacksaw emoji, forum admins... )

I also wish that tool condition had an impact on time taken to accomplish tasks, that'd be mega but a whole new mechanic altogether I reckon.