Another Crossroad Elegy Review (spoilers)

TFA303

I just finished  Ep3 last night. I've been playing TLD for about 20 months, and have 1,200 hours logged. I'm starting my own review thread to keep it separate from other folks' reviews in case the devs are keeping track of this stuff. 

I was very excited about Crossroads Elegy, as I'm in this game for the story mode and I just play Survival mode to kill the time between episode releases. I've loved how Hinterland listens to its fans while still being true to its vision of what the game should be; that's a hard balance to strike. 

I'm sad to say that I give CE only a B+. That's still better than much bigger games, but less than I was hoping for. 

Pros

Finding more about Astrid's side of the pre-crash story. 

Visual improvements   - the added detail makes TLD even more beautiful, and  I just about squee'ed the first time I saw a hollow tree. 

The challenge of rescuing the survivors was gripping and immersive. I really worried about making  it. 

I liked the timberwolf music and the idea of them being tougher wolves.

The final scene at Desolation Point was everything I love about TLD and this storyline.

Cons

The timberwolf pack meter is aesthetically jarring and breaks immersion. 

Similarly, the perfect knowledge that the map with your location arrow gives you was unrealistic to the point of immersion-breaking (the geomagnetic storm has made compasses and GPS unusable, but my innate navigation is better than either?), plus it made the quests way too easy.