Designing the Powerful Loneliness of The Long Dark

Admin

sums up why i love the game

i remember getting lost playing civilzation II or playing gothic (piranha bytes) and TlD is the only other game that gives you this feeling of lonelyness and feeling really connected to the world because of the missing map.

• Upvote 1

It's so interesting to hear that Raph was partly inspired by wandering around the Fallout 3 map. I started playing The Long Dark not long after I stopped playing the DayZ mod for Arma 2, an experience that also featured a big map with no minimap. In retrospect, I realize I was already playing that game TLD-style: I would get the hell away from other players (and the clunky combat) on the crowded coast ASAP and push into the interior wilderness to be by myself.

Thank you to everyone at Hinterland for giving us a beautiful world to lose ourselves in.

• Upvote 1
  • Like 3

Guest jeffpeng

Two very important takeaways for me here.

For once: I am sort of a gamer, but actually more like an ex-gamer. I was a ferocious StarCraft player (the original one), I used to play WoW almost profesionally (being the Main Tank in a Top 20 European Guild at the time of The Burning Crusade), and I got as high as Diamond 2 back in Season 3 of LoL despite being in my early 30s at that time. But I left all of that behind me for a lot of reasons, mostly having an engaging job and a small but fine family I show a lot of commitment to. But for some reason The Long Dark appealed to me in a way all of those other games do not: It's not competitive as SC and LoL, and does not hold this appeal of completionism and achievement as WoW did. In fact it's the polar opposite of all of that, and the closer you look you realise that The Long Dark is sort of an anti-game in most respects: