Howdy!

UnlikelyGibbon

Howdy, folks!

I'm a fairly new LD player, having just bought the game a couple of weeks ago.

My playstyle is pretty cautious and methodical--I keep a small notebook right in front of me and attempt to plan out what I'm going to do, with goals/missions for each day. Based on my in-game experimentation, I've made tables for snow melt and water boil times for quantities from 0.2 gal up to 2.0 gal, as well as estimates for various cooking times, which I use as a quick reference so I can plan out how much wood to use when cooking, melting, and boiling and get the maximum benefit from the resources I have.

So, yeah, that probably qualifies me as a bit of a geek in many people's books, but I'm okay with that. ;)

I've been playing video games since the mid-to-late 1970s, but I came to LD by way of watching YouTube videos, starting with

and
last September. After watching their vids, I became interested in the game but, more recently, it was videos by Mathas and Accurize that absolutely convinced me that I should really check this out!

I've only tried Voyageur mode so far, with my first playthrough lasting under 4 days (about 92 hours)--I wasn't being my cautious self and a wolf surprised me coming over a small berm. But my second playthrough is still going at 52 days and I'm doing okay...although fighting a wolf while I had an elevated fatigue level that caused me to be encumbered as a blizzard rolled in almost killed me just yesterday--a convergence of events that I hadn't anticipated and barely survived by the skin of my teeth.

And it was awesome!

Anyway, I really love The Long Dark and it's great to see a community where the players are truly passionate about the game and also so cooperative on the forums, and the developers are continuing to communicate with and consider the ideas of the gaming community.

I'm looking forward to seeing you all on the forums!

Regards,

Gibbon

Thanks, Bill!