Becoming a game dev

Hi, everyone!

First of all wanted to congratulate Hinterland Games with their Kickstarter success. Go, guys and girls!

And what I wanted to ask here is does anyone have any suggestions on how to start a career in game development? I'm really interested in a way to do it when you already have a job, you are already past the moment in your life when you can spend a lot of time on side projects (like you have a family, kids, a job). In this case, as you can see, something like college or internship is really not an option.

I am a software developer myself, but now I'm doing web development, and that's a totally different field. Can anyone suggest a good way to start?

Guest Alan Lawrance

Zinigor,

The two things that matter the most for starting a career in game development are skills and passion. The best way to demonstrate these things to a potential employer is to create something. By creating something you are proving that you have both the skills and passion to get something done.

You don't have to create a large game either. It can be something small -- what is important is that it is complete. Another good way to demonstrate skills/passion is involvement with a mod team. This has the bonus of showing that you can work with others to get things done.

In terms of languages, I recommend using C/C++ since most game companies use that for game development. It would also be good to learn Python or C#, as that is frequently used on the tools side (if that is where your interest lies).

Above all though, roll up your sleeves and start making something. There are lots of game development learning resources available on the internet. Unity is becoming popular as an engine (we use it at Hinterland), so you should download the free version and start learning how to use it.

Good luck, and feel free to email me if you want to talk more off-forum.

• Hinterland