The Will To Live

mystifeid

will_to_live.thumb.png.442cec7a41ad2beeff808685e31ce72a.png

...day 499. I have about 2 hours left as I scour the countryside above Coastal Townsite for the bear I'd shot the previous evening. The wolf sees me before I see it. No problem. Get it over with quickly. Another one to add to the tally. I draw my bow and the wolf charges. It evades the lethal hit and the struggle ensues. To my horror, my hatchet is not offered as a weapon. I'm still trying to think where on earth my hatchet could be before I realize that I've chosen the hammer instead of the knife and that I've already lost an alarming amount of health. I start clicking like a madman...

First, let me congratulate anyone who has acquired the "Will To Live" achievement at any level of difficulty. You are a true devotee of the game and must really, really love it. Please be aware though, any wishes/criticisms listed below apply only to Interloper.

I think I started playing this game at about 1950 hours. Here I am now.

tld_hours.png.170d2646ad8773d858617bd3d6dba618.png

I remember the emotion from seeing 2k hours go by but that feeling seems like it happened a long time ago now. Nearly 200 hours for one game is a big investment of time and I'm really glad that last wolf didn't eat me. Overall there is substantial relief from knowing that, as things stand, I never have to do this again.

Since I had never tried to map the sandbox before I found that this activity, along with the addition of the Mountain Town and Broken Railroad regions, brought a new level of interest to the game despite any disappointment from not triggering the "Faithful Cartographer" achievement.

Moose and the broken rib affliction are also welcome extras until you realize that
- they don't bleed out but can be insta-killed.
- they don't seem to respawn.

So six moose in 500 days. They are interesting diversions but hardly long lasting entertainment. Get those broken ribs while you can.