Interloper 35's Wolves

Riotintheair

Day 9 - I'd been to the summit of Timberwolf Mountain on day 4 and just completed forging my tools on the Riken and there was one task left to me in Desperation Point - loot Scruffy's Lair.  I entered the cave from the ice and proceeded to the T-junction with my new shiny lantern, and then I hesitated - it's more efficient to light a torch I had from Hibernia then light a fire since I'm still new to this firestarting business. So I put the lantern down, clumsily rustle around in my bag for a torch, and finally strike the match to light it when I hear a growl and Scruffy comes bounding out of the night. I drop the torch and in my panic frantically swing my improvised knife... And the fight ends before it begins properly. Scruffy is running off, whimpering in pain and I'm unscathed (98% condition, no discernable clothing damage). To the victors go the spoils and I stripped all the deer carcasses and Scruffy to the bone, on the first completely safe day of this bleak existence. Overall this is the most fortuitous Interloper wolf struggle I've had on any run.