Survived 100 days (still living) - feedback and suggestions

Christoph

So this was actually only my fourth run after buying the game on steam. Let me say first, that I really do enjoy it. I am a professional games researcher (working at the university not games industry) and I rarely play games in my own spare time. Your’s I did play just for fun and really enjoyed it so far. It offers a simple and aesthetically beautiful survival experience. My fourth run was the first one with a female avatar. After 5 min she was attacked by a wolf and almost dead, so I thought: well, that’s it. Turns out it wasn’t. 100 days later she is still alive and well, even has lots of bullets, a couple of good cloth, water, wood, etc in store and could maybe go on for another 100 days. At this point I’ll rather wait for your next update though :)

For those who are interested in how to survive for a longer period in TDL I will explain how I did it. If you want to find out yourself, please don’t read on or you’ll get spoilered. After that I will try to give some feedback and suggestions for the devs, maybe they find them useful. Sorry for my weird English by the way, I’m not a native speaker.

So, first I drew a map of the are in my three runs before. After my lady survived the wolf attack I looted every single building on the map and carried it all back to „trapper’s homestead“. In this area I spent most of my time. I was lucky, since I found 20 bullets for the rifle, which I guess is a lot (I am not sure though). However, it turned out I don’t even need them (only used about half of it so far). It was important that I also searched for the secret bunker, which appears to spawn randomly around the outskirts of the map (I guess that’s no news for people having played the game before the steam release). There was tons of tools and stuff in there that is really important for longterm survival. It’s worth to risk a couple of sprained ankles searching for it.