Two Tales of Blizzards and Caves

Nervous Pete

heartbreakroad.thumb.jpg.0e8d9998f9e4d02

So I started another game recently, this time in Pleasant Valley as Sophe Harlow, a lass stranded out there in a Voyageur-shaped predicament. It's my first time on the map and I was lucky enough to spawn inside the farmhouse. There is a bear that wanders through a nearby field on occasion, but I've managed to avoid him thus far. Meanwhile a pack of hungry wolves roam the field beyond the car. I'm ten days in, surviving on a dozen rifle rounds and waiting for the deer gut to cure so I can make some rabbit snares. It was a tough start though, very little food and until I found the rifle I was nearly starving to death, surviving on cans of pop and beef jerky and risking mouldy candy bars found in abandoned cars. 

Then I found the signal cabin by the radio tower. The sight of it had greeted me every morning when I stepped out onto the front porch, atop a hill in the distance. One day, desperation for food forced me out to try and find this cabin. And I was glad I did, another rifle, ammunition, peanut butter, tools, a fire-starter, comfy beds. I was in heaven! A couple of wolves on the prowl on the valley floor, but aside from that none too shabby. And wallowing in my cromulent success I got over-confident and almost killed myself...

I was out a wandering and found a rope dangling over the edge of a cliff. Looking down over the edge I saw a bear shuffling about. I knew I couldn't explore down there with the bear around, so I took a shot at it with my rifle. There was a hit and it howled and ran away. I waited. Started a fire to keep myself warm (it was around noon, but a nippy day) and looked out to see the bear hobbling through trees in the distance. Eventually it returned to the foot of the cliff and died from blood loss.