An old New England soul - (tl;dr warning)

Vilespectre

Greetings, fellow survivors!

I usually go by Vilespectre in the untamed wilderness that is the internet, but most of my friends in the analog world call me Mike. The rest of them use more colorful verbiage that I won't get into here. I'm 29 years old, I live in New England, USA (Connecticut, specifically), and I've been playing TLD since August. I spent about 6 or 7 years in the Boy Scouts, love hiking/camping, and have always had a fondness for the outdoors - despite the fact that I am decidedly a hermit whose natural habitat is a basement with fluorescent lighting.

Unsurprisingly, I am also a colossal nerd. I work in the technology industry, I did robotics in high school instead of sports, I think a lot of math humor is actually funny, and sometimes when I'm bored I'll play around with ancient programming languages for fun. I am also largely nocturnal and an incurable introvert.

Somehow - despite being almost constantly "plugged-in" to the modern conveniences of the world - I have not-so-secretly longed for the simplicity and solace of a survival scenario like the one presented in The Long Dark, and it turned out to be a game that I never knew I always wanted. I think Hinterland has done a fantastic job of creating a form of interactive poetry: a dark and gritty sonnet of the visceral and the mundane, an elegy for civilization whose stanzas are written in storms, blood, shadows, and fire. It's turpentine that strips away the idea of humanity's primacy over the earth, leaving the player with more meaningful concerns than retirement funds and gift registries. TLD reminds me of how - long ago - our ancestors huddled together against the darkness, whose reaches were filled with gnashing teeth and howling winds. It brings me back to my days in the Scouts, and how profoundly simple and vital the words "Be Prepared" truly are.